Different kinds of Pride

I usually do not read articles/ books/ magazines as I limit myself to Bible, and am glad this is one of those articles that has managed to creep in my reading fire wall. A very beautiful article by Abhimanue V, this has been published in Bro. Duke Jeyraj’s magazine as well. So, I am re – posting it with all permissions from Abhimanue. :) and all credit and glory goes to Jesus.

My Church Pastor has been dropping bomb shells, Sunday after Sunday in Church. The message last Sunday was yet another Bomb! He spoke about P R I D E, the top most of all SINs ! ! !

I’ve been tempted ever since to speak more about PRIDE…. in our message today, let me talk about different subtle forms of pride.

1. It is called the “I am Special” pride!

Symptoms:

  • You get offended, when your name is not mentioned in the address book of a thank you mail! You may not display it though! You wouldn’t completely accept apologies of errors by others! Take for example, someone accidentally spills coffee over you. He apologizes to you. He may even offer to buy you another shirt. But deep inside your heart, you are still so upset!
  • You would rather wait for someone to greet you first (especially your subordinates/associates). Till that time you are busy ignoring the other person!
  • You expect personal invitation at all invites failing which you’d rather choose not to attend – even if its a good friend’s celebration. Incase someone missed you in their invite list, for whatever reason, you begin to brood over it and never quite get over it.
  • You seem to get offended at the slightest gesture of casualness by a new friend or a family relative and even give it back at times!!

2. It is called the “I am invincible” pride!

Symptoms:

  • You have a tough time accepting, or considering for that matter, suggestion given by colleagues / subordinates or anyone else!
  • You do not entertain people who challenge you or correct you! You’d rather keep away and maintain distance!
  • You avoid contact with people whom you think have a higher potential compared to you.
  • You get extremely offended when your associates seek help for complicated cases from your friend and not you!
  • You don’t maintain eye contact when you wish your associates back.

Do you know that God considers PRIDE as the top most of all sins. He opposes the PROUD! It was Pride that brought Lucifer down!

3. “You can’t touch me” pride!

  • What is your immediate reaction to someone, who is trying to correct you? Especially when that person is your subordinate – and he/she is advising you on your area of expertise?
  • Do you patiently listen to the critic or keep cutting them often?
  • When you are being corrected, do you get excited or are you busy planning a counter attack in your mind?
  • Are you a easy person to talk to? Are you easy to reach out to? Or are you cut off?

4. “I am the eldest” pride !

  • Are you a strong believer of, “with age comes experience, and by default wisdom”?
  • Do you have a problem working under a boss who is younger to you?
  • Do you mind taking instructions from a new member of the Church?
  • Do you have a problem taking back your words?

5. “I am super Christian” pride ! — Beware of this. It’s a monster!!!!!

  • You’ve been baptised in water by immersion and then you’ve been baptised in the Holy Spirit.
  • You are on fire for the Lord. You’ve even brought a couple of people to the Lord.
  • You prayed and someone got delivered / healed.
  • Your Pastor has even made a special mention of you in Church, soon after which, your perception about
    everyone begins to change!!!! You expect your fellow church friends to do stuff that you do! You
    begin to question your fellow believers and challenge their faith!
  • You start your own analysis of all visiting preachers / teachers / pastors, and also give them grades.

Do you want to hear of more kinds of pride? Why not repent from these five types of pride, right now people!

If  you feel convicted, there’s no better time than now  to repent and recommit yourself to the Lord.. let’s pray:

“Dear Lord Jesus, I have sinned against YOU by making me first in all the matters and not YOU.. Lord.. I have allowed pride to take control of my heart and mind… and have thus gone afar from YOUR presence.. Lord, here am I… crying out to You, please forgive me… and accept me back again… help me to live for You… and as I keep living for You Lord… one day Lord, help me to be transformed completely into Your image.. so that people do not see me any more, but they will only see YOU and only YOU.. forgive me, accept me and restore unto me the joy of Your salvation and renew a right spirit within me… Amen”

8 thoughts on “Different kinds of Pride

  1. Quite comprehensive list of Pride. Good write up, spiritually balanced.
    But it would have been better if Bible passages was included for references and further study.

  2. 6: The “Look what I accomplished pride”
    >This one can be subtle, but it consists of good meaning Christians who stop and look at the field when they are finished with a sense of self accomplishment. All too often this accomplishment can turn into pride.
    >I am proud of you my son/daughter. Why? I am proud to be an American! This is one of the most dangerous to fall into because this kind of accomplishment pride is so very socially acceptable.

    While it is ok to feel accomplished about your work, it is, however, wrong to take pride in it. While you can honestly say what you did, it turns into boasting of yourself and not of God who empowered you to get it done. I know this is wrong because God has given me an unbelievably high IQ, and I wore it as a badge on my sleeve sort of speak. I would scoff and look down on people and say “open your eyes” and while I still say to them to open their eyes, it is with love now and God humbled me about my pride. Thank you for your site it was very humbling.

    • Very well said, Chris. This form of pride is largely ignored when discussed in this context. It has even gotten to the point where it has become accepted as a ‘good’ type of pride, whereas a recurring theme of Scriptures from cover to cover is that God hates pride. Period. No differentiating. Pride–no matter what kind–is always about the self. If you are proud because you received a promotion, you feel that YOU did everything to get that promotion. If you are proud that your kid got into Harvard, it’s because it is YOUR kid. If you’re proud that your local sports team won a title, it’s because the team is from YOUR town. It always comes back to the self. And as you said, Chris, nationalistic pride is one of the most dangerous because it is labelled positively as ‘patriotic’ yet we had absolutely nothing to do with where we were born. That was all God’s doing.

      Let us be pleased with the good things we are able to do through the grace and gifts given unto us by the Lord. But not proud. We are vessels that God empowers in various ways to bring Him glory, not ourselves.

  3. I have heard many Christains, pastors, preachers and ministers use the term, “I am Godly proud.” How can this be? For we ought to say what our father said about his son Jesus, “…..Thou art my beloved son in whom I am well pleased”. (Luke 3:22).. God honored his son and the son honored his father. No pride but love and respect. Man want to say there is a bad and good form of pride but the Bible instructs us there is one. How can man know more than God? Can we say there is a good Devil and a bad Devil? Words are spirits, therefore we must be extremely careful in how we use words becaues pride is lerking for the smallest avenue to enter into our spirits to take root that will grow only to come against God and experience debasing. God warns us to continually consider our ways so that we guard against these small foxes.

  4. I have heard many Christians, pastors, preachers and ministers use the term, “I am Godly proud.” How can this be? For we ought to say what our father said about his son I have heard many Christians, pastors, preachers and ministers use the term, “I am Godly proud.” How can this be? For we ought to say what our father said about his son Jesus, “…..Thou art my beloved son in whom I am well pleased”. (Luke 3:22). God honored his son and the son honored his father. No pride but love and respect. Man want to say there is a bad and good form of pride but the Bible instructs us there is one. How can man know more than God? Can we say there is a good Devil and a bad Devil? The Devil is just that, The Devil! Words are spirits, therefore we must be extremely careful in how we use words because pride is lurking for the smallest avenue to enter into our spirits to take root that will grow only to come against God and experience debasing. God warns us to continually consider our ways so that we guard against these small foxes.

  5. Great list very helpful but I disagree on pride being one of the top sins because all sins are the same lieing to the postman or stealing from the elderly wo,an across the street are no different in GODs eyes

Leave a Reply

